Snow Day

It snowed here today.

A really great snow.

Almost 9 inches.

We all went outside as soon as we woke up.

Everyone was happy.

The kids were screaming and throwing snowballs.

We hooked the dog to the sled and ran him around the yard.

In the middle of all the joy, all the fun, and laughter, it hit.

I shouldn’t be out here.

I  should be watching from the windows holding our new baby.

I shouldn’t be grieving the daughter who was taken from me all to soon.

Every part of me wanted to fall apart.

Thursday, her day.

17 weeks.

I managed to hold on and keep myself together.

This sadness though, I feel it straight to my core.

Forever changed, broken, part of me gone with her.

Leave a Reply

